Reviews

We absolutely love all the reviews you send us

It’s a large part of what makes us love what we do!

Average Customer Rating
4.95 Stars - Based on 1022 User Reviews
facebook logogoogle logotripadvisor logo

As a small business we rely heavily on guests feedback to ensure our high standards are being met. And while we could talk your ears (eyes?) off about how great our tours are, the best source are the people that have experienced our tours first hand.

CM67Melb
5 star rating
20/07/2021 - TripAdvisor

Unique, special experience I’ve never been river snorkelling before; this was a whole lot of fun! Wetsuits, raft and snorkel mask provided. InFormative and fun guides Rohan and Will made for a great afternoon. Saw a gorgeous little turtle about the size of my hand. Great mix of walking, snorkelling & rafting. Riding the rapids was fun. Guides were very helpful with a range of physical abilities. Highly recommended! …

Odysseyx
5 star rating
15/07/2021 - TripAdvisor

Bucket List Adventure of a Lifetime This is the BEST and most eco-friendly tour group to explore the beautiful Mossman Gorge if you want a full day adventure swimming, snorkelling and hiking in the rainforest. These guys are fun and informative and provide the wetsuits and all the gear. They're professionals and guide you through the river, rainforest and hidden swimming holes. It's a brilliant day in pristine nature that you'll remember forever. The day also includes a delicious prawn and avocado and green smoothie lunch and a Welcome to Country fire ceremony and chat with an indigenous guide which was fascinating. …

Sharon K.
14/07/2021 - Google

We loved this so much! Our favourite tour so far, so much fun, great guides

Lisa A.
09/07/2021 - Facebook

Awesome trip down Mossman river. Some fun rapids to go over and some quiet bits to float and snorkel. We had a wonderful morning adventure 👍

Gen F.
09/07/2021 - Google

Amazing experience for everyone and so glad I did it. Guides were great with everyone and caring.Unbelievable experience with floating and snorkeling. Something you will never forget.Great service being picked up and dropped at our accommodation. Nice to have hot drink and snack when you get out of the river.

Rob P.
03/07/2021 - Facebook

Just a perfect adventurous Mossman Gorge day, thanks to Artemis & the bliss crew. From the river, lilos, snorkel, rainforest to the town, up the gorge, swimming pristine pools, local knowledge & tons of FUN! Simply cannot recommend highly enough, just BOOK, & do it!

Caitlin L
5 star rating
01/07/2021 - TripAdvisor

A truly special experience. Our family were lucky enough to do a Mossman river drift tour with Kayla and Mitch. The tour was informative and interesting as well as being a unique and amazing opportunity. Out guides went out of their way to make sure our child was safe and had fun which we really appreciated. I had numerous phone interactions with Jason in the lead up to our visit over several months and on each occasion he was helpful and professional. I will daydream about this tour for a long time, it was really special, made even more so by the backcountry bliss team.

Caitlin L.
5 star rating
01/07/2021 - TripAdvisor

A truly special experience. Our family were lucky enough to do a Mossman river drift tour with Kayla and Mitch. The tour was informative and interesting as well as being a unique and amazing opportunity. Out guides went out of their way to make sure our child was safe and had fun which we really appreciated. I had numerous phone interactions with Jason in the lead up to our visit over several months and on each occasion he was helpful and professional. I will daydream about this tour for a long time, it was really special, made even more so by the backcountry bliss team.

MJG7119
5 star rating
24/06/2021 - TripAdvisor

Fantastic fun Fantastic day out! Highlights - the river drift and the fab guides! Heaps of fun on a small stretch of the beautiful Mossman River floating down on rafts & snorkeling. The guided tour into Mossman Gorge was an easy walk & Rowan, our guide, a wealth of info & good humour. Well organised, nice lunch, nothing to do but enjoy!

Desma P
5 star rating
24/06/2021 - TripAdvisor

A fun and adventurous tour It was very adventurous for us being close to 60 yr old and of medium fitness but we survived. There is always quite a current to swim with (or against) whilst snorkelling, we saw quite a few fish of various sizes and some of our group saw a snake and small turtles. Part of the tour included ‘drifting’ through small rapids, you have to be able to control your raft by paddling with your hands (like a heavy duty Lilo). I crashed my raft into a rock and it flipped over with me under it, in a deep spot, so you need to be able to swim and get back on the raft which I managed to do with out too much effort. One guide in front and one behind are there to assist if needed. I’m glad we did it and would recommend to others, but if you are older you need to be reasonably fit. The children on the tour seemed to really enjoy it like ducks to water!

MichelleEatonReid
5 star rating
22/06/2021 - TripAdvisor

Mossman River bliss! Will and Mitch were awesome guides . We spent a fun filled morning on the beautiful Mossman River, snorkeling , paddling, rafting down rapids and marvelling at the underwater life. We saw Turtles, catfish, water snake, lots of little fish and so much more. Highly recommend!!

MelissaLong
5 star rating
21/06/2021 - TripAdvisor

Fantastic NQ experience Our family of 6 participated in the River Drift, half day tour, as part of our NQ holiday. Was an absolutely fantastic morning of walking, paddling, drifting and snorkelling. Absolutely no trouble for an 8, 10 and 12 year old, and quite enjoyable for our 15 year old. We loved it. The team do a fantastic job. Will, our guide, was fabulous. Highly recommend

Amanda P.
17/06/2021 - Facebook

We had a fantastic time on this tour with our 3 children (12,10 and 8) it was safe, fun and an absolutely beautiful way to see the rainforest! Definitely recommend.

Sue L.
14/06/2021 - Facebook

Recommend everyone has this amazing, incredible experience. Absolutely amazing, go do it!!! ?✌️?

Mel66andPhil
4 star rating
13/06/2021 - TripAdvisor

Wonderful rainforest and river drifting/snorkelling I enjoyed an afternoon of drifting down the river on a lilo with a bit of snorkelling in between. This was a really good alternative to going out to the Reef.

It was advertised as drift snorkelling, but really there is more drifting on lilos than drift snorkelling. Though not always remaining on the lilos as there were some small rapids, but it easy enough to get on again after falling off. While I was expecting more snorkelling it was still a good trip. Also, we had to carry the lilos through the rainforest, which wasn't clear on the brochure when they mentioned a walk through the rainforest.
Our guides were really good and very knowledgeable and took the safety of all the participants seriously.
The river was cold (around 20C) but the wetsuits and boots supplied were comfortable.
The only thing I think could be improved is either more information about what can be taken on the tour, or a way of managing with these items. i.e glasses. I don't see well without my glasses, and we were told not to take our glasses as they could become broken or lost on the river. This became a problem when having to watch where you are walking through the rainforest so as not to trip over vines. I initially got around this problem by putting my own prescription goggles on when walking through the rain forest, but that soon became difficult as they fogged up. This lead to issues with snorkelling because the defog had been used earlier so my mask kept fogging up when snorkelling. When the guides yelled out to avoid a sunken palm tree I couldn't see it, so ran straight into it. No problem, I just had to get off the lilo, move past the palm, get back on the lilo and continue down the river. But I did feel that I missed out on some of the beautiful scenery because I couldn't see it. I think this could be improved by allowing people to wear their glasses on the rainforest walk and then put them in a case with hook attached so that they can be attached to the lilo when on the river. I think I would also take my defog with me, to be able to reapply it as needed, especially when drifting on the calm bits of the river and looking up into the canopy above.
I also think it was overpriced, and that around $80pp would be more appropriate taking into account fuel for tranfers from Port Douglas to Mossman, having two experienced guides and the use lilos and wetsuits.
But overall, it was a good experience.

Greg M.
12/06/2021 - Google

A fantastic experience from pick up to drop off. Rowan picked me up from Clifton Shopping Centre (caught the 110 bus from Cairns for $5.90) on time and was an excellent companion for the drive to Mossman. The river drifting was phenomenal. Great staff, good equipment and stunning scenery and a great way to see the rainforest in a completely new way. The water clarity was pristine and the forest was stunning. Highly recommend this experience with Back Country Bliss Adventures!

Leanne F
5 star rating
11/06/2021 - TripAdvisor

River Drift/Snorkeling We went on the river drift in the Mossman Gorge. It was amazing so beautiful. Lisa and Kahla were fantastic tour guides. There was walking and paddling and heaps of snorkelling. Absolutely loved it. Can’t wait to do it again

Karen C.
11/06/2021 - Facebook

We had a fantastic river snorkelling and drifting experience and would really recomend giving it a go.

Sean R.
11/06/2021 - Google

Fantastic float down an incredible river great staff that made you feel so welcome and safe highly recommend

Leanne F.
5 star rating
11/06/2021 - TripAdvisor

River Drift/Snorkeling We went on the river drift in the Mossman Gorge. It was amazing so beautiful. Lisa and Kahla were fantastic tour guides. There was walking and paddling and heaps of snorkelling. Absolutely loved it. Can’t wait to do it again

Ryan R.
09/06/2021 - Facebook

Thanks to the crew for a fantastic afternoon on the river. Highly recommended!

Karen J.
08/06/2021 - Google

Well our trip down the Mossman River with this company was the BEST from pick up to drop off we had a ball the river was flowing so we got the long run and gee it was an experience we won't forget until you do it you won't understand a big thanks to the staff on the 3rd June great jobKaz and Daz shoal Bay nsw

greg y.
08/06/2021 - Google

Amazing, highly recommended

Beverley C.
08/06/2021 - Google

A big shout out to Wayne who went above and beyond to help me and keep me safe, thank you. Very professional company. Would recommend.

maccca1972
5 star rating
07/06/2021 - TripAdvisor

Best tour from port Douglas Most awesome experience ever. Great first day by Ritchie. Glen so great at his job. Thanks guys. Equipment was great. Super friendly. Highly recommend!!

DjJames67
5 star rating
05/06/2021 - TripAdvisor

Wow factor 10/10 Do yourself a favour and do the river snorkel trip down the Mossman river with this company can’t speak highly enough of the staff on 3rd June
You will never forget what you see this day , so until you do it you won’t understand , we were luckily enough to do the long run as the river was up and wow
Will definetly have another go when we return
Cheers Daz and Kaz shoal bay Nsw

Elizabeth W.
02/06/2021 - Facebook

We had so much fun today. Rapids, snorkelling, and just floating down the river through the rainforest. A truly amazing way to spend the afternoon. Thanks Rowan and Kayla

Sillybuggers2
4 star rating
28/05/2021 - TripAdvisor

Fun filled activity Great fun activity.Amazing scenery.Guides were funny,interactive but made sure we were safe.
Floating down the river was a surreal
Experience .Thanks heaps.
Great value.
Highly recommend this to everyone

WendiMitchell60
5 star rating
27/05/2021 - TripAdvisor

Beautiful drift snorkel down the Daintree River My sister and I had a great time drift snorkelling and it turned out to be quite the adventure. Our tour guides (sorry ladies your names now escape me ...) were fantastic. Very knowledgeable and extremely helpful when we needed it! Highly recommended for a bit of beauty and excitement!

Sillybuggers2
4 star rating
27/05/2021 - TripAdvisor

Fun filled activity Great fun activity.Amazing scenery.Guides were funny,interactive but made sure we were safe.
Floating down the river was a surreal
Experience .Thanks heaps.
Great value.
Highly recommend this to everyone

Dave_j_Collins
5 star rating
26/05/2021 - TripAdvisor

Floating down the Daintree This is a must tour for everyone who likes a little adventure and getting close to nature. The float down the Mossman River in the Daintree Rainforest gave a unique view of this ancient forest. The snorkelling got you up close with the local fish and if lucky a platypus. The wetsuits did a good job of keeping you warm once you got them wet. The tour finished off with a hot drink and biscuits. A great morning adventure.

WendiMitchell60
5 star rating
26/05/2021 - TripAdvisor

Beautiful drift snorkel down the Daintree River My sister and I had a great time drift snorkelling and it turned out to be quite the adventure. Our tour guides (sorry ladies your names now escape me ...) were fantastic. Very knowledgeable and extremely helpful when we needed it! Highly recommended for a bit of beauty and excitement!

Dave_j_Collins
5 star rating
26/05/2021 - TripAdvisor

Floating down the Daintree This is a must tour for everyone who likes a little adventure and getting close to nature. The float down the Mossman River in the Daintree Rainforest gave a unique view of this ancient forest. The snorkelling got you up close with the local fish and if lucky a platypus. The wetsuits did a good job of keeping you warm once you got them wet. The tour finished off with a hot drink and biscuits. A great morning adventure.

stephenbG2705LY
5 star rating
25/05/2021 - TripAdvisor

Loved it Did the river rafting. Had a great time doing something completely different. Won't mention that 1 of the crew bogged the car :), but even that turned into a bit of an adventure. Had a great time and would recommend this tour to any one.

Linda g.
25/05/2021 - Google

This tour of Mossman Gorge and river drifting was so informative and so much fun, it was a highlight of our time spent in Port Douglas

stephenbG2705LY
5 star rating
25/05/2021 - TripAdvisor

Loved it Did the river rafting. Had a great time doing something completely different. Won't mention that 1 of the crew bogged the car :), but even that turned into a bit of an adventure. Had a great time and would recommend this tour to any one.

Simon C.
17/05/2021 - Google

Fantastic half-day drift snorkelling tour - great host, nice drive and then 15 min walk into the rainforest before spending 2 wonderful hours in the water. Full length wetsuits kept us warm and we saw lots of fish and some turtles. Well worth a try!

Simon-from-Adelaide
5 star rating
17/05/2021 - TripAdvisor

Great drift snorkelling experience! Fantastic half-day drift snorkelling tour - great host, nice drive and then 15 min walk into the rainforest before spending 2 wonderful hours in the water. Full length wetsuits kept us warm and we saw lots of fish and some turtles. Well worth a try!

Simon-from-Adelaide
5 star rating
16/05/2021 - TripAdvisor

Great drift snorkelling experience! Fantastic half-day drift snorkelling tour - great host, nice drive and then 15 min walk into the rainforest before spending 2 wonderful hours in the water. Full length wetsuits kept us warm and we saw lots of fish and some turtles. Well worth a try!

Justine M.
15/05/2021 - Google

Could not recommend this tour enough, fabulous staff, well looked after, very knowledgeable staff, beautiful scenery, very relaxing & thrilling at the same time.

Isaac Tredrea
5/16/2020 - Google

I have done two separate tours with this group, and they are both amazing

Karen Hicks
3/21/2020 - Google

Enjoyed the experience immensely and the guides were awesome Will and Artie One of my favourite holiday experiences of my life

Lallie Fraser
3/21/2020 - Google

Amazing experience - one I will never forget and would encourage anyone and everyone to do!

X3325PFpaulm
5 star rating
3/20/2020 - TripAdvisor

River Drift Snorkelling This was the best experience, a must do, great guides, easy, not stressful.
Snorkelling, drifting on rafts, all under the canopy of the Daintree Rain Forest.

Darren Hayes
3/18/2020 - Google

What an incredible experience.
Our guide Stu was extremely knowledgeable and enthusiastic.
The insight into Aboriginal ways of the rainforest was fascinating.
The river slide and snorkeling was amazing.
I would highly recommend doing the half day trip.
Get wet, get involved, get into the rainforest.
Thank you!

Jack Biggs
2/24/2020 - Google

Amazing experience! We had the best time with Stu as our guide. Great knowledge of the area, the river & teaching us how to snorkel for the first time. We could not have had a better guide. Each part of the river we visited was a completely different experience. Would do this activity over and over again!

alexmG1068PH
5 star rating
2/22/2020 - TripAdvisor

Amazing! Highly recommended This was such an amazing experience and incredible way to see the rain forest and have a swim. The guides were fabulous and so helpful and informative! we were lucky to have had some rain and got a little bit of an extra section of the river in which can’t be accessed during dryer times. An absolute must do!

Rachael Howat
2/21/2020 - Google

This was an incredible experience and one of the best adventures we did on our trip! The guides were great, the river was CRYSTAL clear, and we got to snorkel our way down through a stunning ancient rainforest looking at hundreds of fish and searching for turtles. The views above water were like something out of the lost world. Thick rainforest making you feel like you’re in a movie set! Brilliant! We will definitely do this tour again next time we visit!

Justin Domain
2/21/2020 - Google

Absolutely recommended! Both Adventurous and relaxing. The tour guide 'Artemis' was very professional, knowledgeable and heaps of fun. The rainforest is stunning to see and loved snorkeling down the river. Heaps of fish and wildlife seen. Will deffinetly be back.

Debbie Pieniacki
2/21/2020 - Google

What a great way to enjoy the river and rainforest. I loved the snorkeling, finding numerous fresh water fish varieties and the rafting was super fun. Exciting in the fast flow sections and relaxing in other parts letting you relax and take in the beauty of the river and rainforest.